Welcome to the CHNetwork Online Community Forums Worship 7th Session of the Council of Trent

1 reply, 2 voices Last updated by  brorex 1 year, 2 months ago
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
  • #21317


    From Christianity Today – Today in Christian History

    March 3, 1547: At the Seventh Session of the Council of Trent, the Roman Catholic church defines its theology of the sacraments. Arguing that seven sacraments are necessary for salvation—Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Penance, Extreme Unction, Holy Orders, and Matrimony—the council rejected the teaching of most Protestants that only two were required: Baptism and the Lord’s Supper.



    What Christianity Today wrote is true, but not quite true enough. The statement as posted is misleading. It could be read to suggest that the Church teaches that every individual must receive every one of the seven sacrament because they are “necessary for salvation.”

    Here is a link to the teaching of the 7th session of the Council of Trent. Please note the “Canons on the Sacraments in General,” Canon #4 in particular. The Council Father’s clearly state that not every individual must receive all seven sacraments as a necessity for salvation.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.


Not recently active